Writing poetry and Tiffany Valentine

It’s been almost a year since I decided to take a break from the book and started writing poetry again. It wasn’t supposed to be anywhere near this long, but poetry is my first love and it’s been great to be writing it again. In the past when my work was being published I was in a wide selection of magazines and anthologies and got a few small awards. I had two collections published. When I became disabled I quit writing. It wasn’t until my pain medication was lowered that I started writing again. I didn’t realize that’s what was blocking me.

So at this point I’ve written a good bit of poetry but I’ve only posted it on here or twitter. Tonight I submitted a poem to Fantasy magazine. It’s a pro zine, so a difficult sell, but I figured I may as well start at the top. This poem was never shared on here, but I am wondering, does social media or blogs count as ‘published’ to magazine editors? I wouldn’t think so unless they specified it as such, but I’d love to get feedback from other writers and/or editors. Anyway, I need to get back to the book but I like writing poetry better.

Less than a week now until my big weekend. We leave for Baltimore Friday, hit the haunted house and hang out in Fells Point. Saturday is the comic con! I think we’re going to break in the afternoon to go see a play, then come back for the costume contest. I don’t remember if I talked about my costume but I love it. πŸ™‚ I’m Tiffany Valentine from Bride of Chucky and Hunter is Chucky, of course. Ok a quick look in my images does not turn up any photos so apparently I have not posted any. πŸ™‚ Anyway. We check out Sunday and may go to the aquarium before we leave the city. I’d like to, I just don’t know if we’ll have money/energy to do so. Sunday night Hunter is crashing here before he has to go back home so it’s horror movies and snuggling until Halloween. So that’s my big plans. I am crossing my fingers that nothing goes wrong because we have been planning this for ages and I want everything to be perfect.

This coming week is going to be hectic. I have a lot scheduled. So I’ll post when I can. Have some pics of me in costume to snicker at. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Writing poetry and Tiffany Valentine

  1. Im glad you are sharing more poetry. I do know that I’ve known people that have run into issues with Amazon with trying to publish already published works in books they plan to sell there. With other outlets, they will usually stipulate whether they will accept previously published pieces. Good luck! πŸ’ž

    • They do say if they accept previously published. My question is, does your personal blog or social media count as published? I wouldn’t think it would, but things are a bit different than they were when I was selling my work long ago.
      If I post it on my blog, I don’t think of it as published. I’m wondering if they would.

  2. Hi Julie, looking good! I usually answer no to β€œhas this been published” then comment only on my blog…. Probably why no-one publishes me! Enjoying your blogging….

    • Thanks Tallisman. πŸ™‚
      That’s probably the answer… I should note that it was on my blog or twitter. I just don’t know if it’s worth the trouble if they state ‘no reprints’. Guess I’ll have to do it anyway!

Leave a comment