Miscellaneous every day stuff

I have knee surgery coming up and I can’t say I’m particularly looking forward to it. I suppose there would be something wrong with me if I were. 🙂 My knee has been damaged most of my life and I’ve put it off as long as I can, but it’s gotten to where I can barely walk any more. There are three bones that need to be removed, and then there’s a jagged spur that needs to be sawed off and filed down. My tendon goes across this spur and is partially torn from it. I’ve had a giant lump on my knee where it necrotized around the dead bone, so after surgery that lump should be greatly diminished. Since I hurt it when I was 12, I’m not sure what it’s like to not have the alien knee thing going on. I say alien, because of the Charlie Sheen movie “The Arrival”. If you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about. An ex came up with that comparison and I found it funny so it stuck.

I had hoped to get this done with during the worst of summer when I can’t step out the door without immediately being drenched anyway. However, it’s scheduled for the third week of September when it should almost be getting liveable out there. Oh well.. that’s how it goes I suppose. The annual comic con is coming up and I’d love to go to that, but I wouldn’t be able to walk around and I have no one to go with anyway. So since I’m pretty much stuck here, I’ve been doing some organizing around the house, and spending more time online. I discovered product testing for reviews on Amazon. That’s been fun so far.. I’m getting loads of stuff for free or cheap and it gives me a chance to try out things I normally wouldn’t spend the money on. I’ve been getting mostly beauty products, because there are lots of them and it appeals to my girly side. There are other things as well, of course. So if anyone reading this wants to try it out, here’s a link to the best one: elitedealclub.com/?invcode=R9qqjWFl

I’ve also rediscovered pinterest. That started with a place to save tattoo designs I was interested in, but of course I’m saving other stuff too. I love old photos, and I’ve amassed quite a collection so far. Some of them I think will be good to inspire writing. I love the Old West photos, gypsies, Native Americans, Ziegfeld girls, Victorian and Edwardian people in general, the Depression era, Storyville and prostitutes in general, and the occasional oddity, such as a woman riding a saddled ostrich. I also pin garden ideas for the garden I’ve always wanted to have, complete with gate and paths and lush flowers, and moss gardens, with moss sculptures and moss covered furniture. They’re beautiful. Of course it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t have several boards of pinned literature, rare books and the like. I see how people get hooked on it. It’s not hard to do.

One of the boards is abandoned building and places. I’ve always had an affinity for them and I used to do quite a bit of urban exploring before I moved to South Carolina. In MD there were lots of old hospitals and the like  within driving distance. Here, not so much. There is one place I know of but it’s heavily guarded and is in the middle of the city, so not good for sneaking into. I’ve seen photos from some people who have made it, but I am in no condition to sneak or run, and again, I have no one to explore with anyway. B drove us to the old Holy Land park and Raven and I explored that one, but it was in pretty bad shape. When we were out west, R and I checked out several abandoned tourist traps along the old Route 66, and went to a couple of ghost towns. I liked to imagine the ghost towns how they once might have been, dusty and noisy, and with people on the streets. I can imagine the cowboys from my photos, the outlaws and ranchers, and the women, both  “soiled doves”, as they were known, and the more respectable ones. I think any woman who went out west during that time must have had at least some spirit of adventure. It was the wilds back then, the unknown where anything might happen. I wish we still had country like that now here in the states.

3 responses to “Miscellaneous every day stuff

  1. Thanks for the post – and good luck with the knee surgery. There are parts of rural and even urban NZ that resemble the wild west – checkout blackball on google – its a very cool place.

      • We are truly blessed here – mountains, beaches, fiords, glaciers, rain forests, volcanoes and nowhere more than 120km from the ocean. I sound like a tourist brochure don’t I? My family started out in Blackball – they emigrated from Yorkshire where they worked in the mines – then came to NZ to work in the mines again. Go figure?

Leave a Reply

