Cecil and all the rest

“Whenever I see a photograph of some sportsman grinning over his kill, I am always impressed by the striking moral and aesthetic superiority of the dead animal to the live one.”
~ Edward Abbey

Starting with Cecil the lion, the plight of endangered species and trophy hunting has been in the news. By now everyone has heard of the dentist who lured a protected, tagged lion that was used to people and had no fear of them, out of his park with scent and meat. This sad little man then shot the lion with a bow and arrow, waited 40+ hours, and then finally slaughtered him, decapitating and skinning him. Cecil was this lion’s name and he was a well-known lion with a large pride and many cubs. He was a gorgeous specimen, with a regal black mane and intelligent eyes. He was 13 years old, and would walk right up to tourist’s vehicles. Now this slimy little dentist is being harassed. I truly, deeply hope that he is extradited for poaching. His non-apology is insulting. He apologizes that the lion he killed was a known favorite and part of a study, not that he killed it. He is only sorry that he got caught, and he will never understand the difference.

Lions were listed as proposed threatened last year, which basically means they are just waiting for the paperwork to go through to make it official. But you know, even if we had lions in abundance, I would still find it revolting. There is this beautiful, majestic creature with emotions and feelings. The so called hunter isn’t hungry and is certainly in no danger. No, he just wants to slaughter this creature so he can mount its head and show it off to his friends. I truly think he’s trying to make up for some inadequacies on his part. I also think that he is a sociopath lacking any empathy whatsoever. For this particular wealthy and privileged POS, not any lion will do. He wants the top specimen. The lion with the biggest, blackest mane, and damn the consequences. This person only received a slap on the wrist for his previous poaching charges, so I’m sure he thinks this is the same. I very much hope that is not the case.

I am very passionate about this. I am very pissed off and I am absolutely disgusted with the human race. I have waited a few days to write anything with the wisdom of knowing better than to spew the first things that come to mind. However, it seems I am still filled with rage. I am sick to death of “Why don’t you get this upset about “insert pet crusade here””, as  I am perfectly capable of debating more than one issue at a time.

Then Zimbabwe came out and said another doctor had done the same thing in April. I don’t know why they didn’t bring charges up in April, but either way, this is another disgusting little man with more money than empathy. I have always heard that doctors are one of the top professions for psychopaths, and  I think there must be something to that. This particular POS has killed multiple elephants, antelope, zebra, caracal, leopards and just about every other creature in Africa. Poachers are disgusting life forms that need to be exterminated, and trophy hunting is no better. This barbaric practice should have been banned 100 years ago. Elephants… I don’t even know what to say. The elephants really get to me. I’ve read he’s killed six of them. Elephants are intelligent, emotional creatures with tight knit relationships and a strong sense of altruism. These things are widely known… I’m not saying anything radical here. It’s just a fact. But it is another species, so we slaughter them. I often think better of these other species than I do of my own.

Both of these ‘great white hunters’ are now being harassed and have gone into hiding. Good. I hope they lose their practices. Perhaps that will dissuade others from the slaughter of the world’s wildlife. It’s disappearing quickly. I visited Kenya long ago, and it was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever gone. The great plains with grazing herds of wildebeest and zebra, wandering families of elephants and giraffes, and prides of lions was magnificent. I have always wanted to return there, but the thought of those plains being empty is a sad one. I hope more African countries ban hunting their animals and instead protect them and build up a lucrative tourist industry.

 

Leave a Reply

