The desert and beyond

Raven and I are going on a trip next week. We’ve both been looking forward to this for a long time. It was her graduation present, but we had to wait until the weather was a bit more hospitable. We’re heading to Arizona, where we’ll get a car and head up to Utah. We have a vague sort of idea what direction we’re headed and some of the things we want to see, but plans are completely flexible and it depends on a lot of factors. I went to the Southwest once before and found it very peaceful. All that open space and dramatic landscapes give you a sense of freedom that can be intoxicating. I truly hope that Raven lets go of all the things bothering her and is able to just live in the moment while we’re out there. I’ve banned her cell phone while we’re out there and I think that will help. She can check her mail at night when we get back to the room or whatever, but I told her, if she’s busy looking at that damn screen, she’s going to miss everything. I wish this whole generation would realize that. It should be mandatory for them to go without any internet or cell phone for a couple of weeks every so often. It’s good to unplug and live life in person rather than virtually. You wouldn’t think you’d have to say that, or that it would be so difficult. In most ways, I have stayed young, but in this way I guess I’m old fashioned. I spend a fair amount of time online, but thankfully, I don’t obsessively check tumblr on my phone, or feel the need to update social media with photos of meals and tweets about my day.

Anyway, I hope we have a fantastic time and have adventures and see beautiful things. We hope to go through the Superstition mountains, then up to Route 66, on up through Navajo country and into Utah. There we have a string of national parks we’d like to visit, and then looping back down, hit some ghost towns and if we have time, see more of the southern desert. Of course, I had big plans last time I went and I barely got over the Utah border. 🙂 There is just so much to see.

I’m currently reading “The Windup Girl” and enjoying it so far. It’s been a while since I’ve read a good sci-fi book. Brian is at a conference and Raven is holed up in her room on the damn internet. I believe my foot is broken, which is shitty timing with the upcoming trip, but we’ll find out tomorrow. At least if I have a cast on it, it shouldn’t hurt so much. The cats are sleeping and the dog is outside barking. This time of night I always get lonely.

Leave a Reply

