Publishing and changes

Well it’s been almost a month since I started this blog and really, I haven’t gotten very far. Still, any progress is better than none. If I keep working on it hopefully I can get into the habit of writing every day. This morning I read over some of the work I’ve done in the past, and then started looking online. When I was submitting a lot of my work, there were pages and pages of results if you googled me. However, it seems that many of the online zines I sold to are no longer operating, and many of the print issues I was in are no longer for sale. My collections are still listed on sdpbookstore.com but some of the other distributors are no longer running. It’s all pretty discouraging. In this age, it doesn’t seem like a lot of these publications survive for long.

I think it’s been about 5 years now.. it doesn’t seem that long, but yeah, it has been. Once in a while I’ll pop into the reddit writing forums and it seems self publishing is all the rage. When I was sending my work out, that was called vanity publishing, and was not to be respected. You submitted your work to an editor and he either bought it or passed. If he passed, you’d try somewhere else. I wouldn’t submit places that did not pay unless it was a high prestige publication that would help to have in my resume. It seems a lot has changed in five years.

Now some people are actually doing well and making a living with self publishing. I imagine part of that is the popularity of e-books, but I wonder how professionals view the whole self-publishing business. If I manage to get writing, preferably a book, I’d much prefer to have an agent and go with the big publishing houses, but I understand that takes a long time. Self publishing saves time and rejection I suppose.   

I wonder sometimes if I can write with the way my life is now. I wish it weren’t so miserably hot here. I hate it.

Leave a Reply

